ICOMOS India was established in 2011 with a mission to promote and enhance professionalism in conservation, management, planning and development of India’s diverse heritage. The organisation is intrinsically linked to regional and international complementary ICOMOS committees and hence brings to these platforms paradigms arising from the Indian context, both in theory and practice from the Indian cultural heritage fraternity.  It further helps its members connect to  a worldwide network of professionals involved in heritage protection and encourage interdisciplinary dialogues. At present, ICOMOS India has 145 members  from across the country.

ICOMOS India, is a membership based organization that provides a forum where individuals and representatives of institutions concerned with the conservation, protection, rehabilitation and enhancement of cultural heritage sites and places can meet to exchange information and views on principles and practices in the field.

Membership is drawn from across the country, divided into six zones to ensure adequate regional representation. Regional members are represented on the Executive Committee by a Regional Representative. These six zones are constituted as follows:

  1. North Zone – Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Delhi, Uttaranchal
  2. West Zone – Rajasthan, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu
  3. Central zone –   Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh
  4. East Zone – Bihar, Orissa, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  5. South Zone – Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Lakshadweep Islands
  6. North East Zone – Meghalaya, Tripura, Manipur, Sikkim, Assam, Mizoram, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh

Website: www.icomosindia.org